Well here is my first review on the Oregon Coast!

Name: Buoy 9

Location: Hammond

Type of service: Bar, although family friendly

Food: Bar food, heard they have the best fish n chips

I got here early, just around 4:30 PM and decided to sit in the bar. I like the bar area, you can do a lot of people watching. 🙂 I was the only person here…awkward I know. I ordered a whiskey and coke with fresh halibut fish n chips. The bartender was very friendly, I’m sure she was bored. Because I was the only person here, I got my food fairly quickly.

Now the critique of the food and drink. The halibut chips were amazing. I’m a big fan of halibut in general, so it was exactly what I expected. It comes with your typical tarter sauce and lemon, which is a must for me. The french fries were the good thick cut, although it needed salt. I’m also a big fan of salted fries or taters. And I always do either a BBQ sauce or ranch. This time I did the BBQ, which looks and tastes homemade. I could be wrong though. The coleslaw was also homemade and it was fairly good. I’m usually very picky about coleslaw, I don’t eat it much because a lot of places don’t make it how I like it. But Buoy 9 was almost on mark. Definitely a lot better than other places.

I stayed as long as I could, and by the time I left there was three other groups. I could tell one group were locals and regulars, the way they chit-chatted with the bartender. Another group I overheard just moved into town, just happens to be the same apartment complex as Matt and I. And the other group didn’t sit in the bar area (underage). Anyways, it seems like a pretty laid back bar/restaurant. Then again I was there super early.

When I was ready to pay my check, I got my bill fairly quickly. I placed my debit card and finished making notes for my review. On the back of my card I have “Please See ID”, and for once the bartender actually asked for my ID. Not a lot of places ask for ID, so I was relatively pleased with it. The price of the halibut chips was a lil spendy at nearly $14, but considered it’s a fresh fish and on the seafood menu, I let it slide. And then there was the drink. Nearly a whooping $6 (okay, well under $6) for a well strong drink. Hard liquor is always the spendy compared to a draft beer or something on tap. So in total I spent about $20 on a meal, which isn’t bad.

Overall, Buoy 9 was an excellent first review choice. I would give them a 9 out of a 10. So, now it’s time for a new experience. Hopefully, my photo quality gets better! 😀

