After a conversation with two of my best friends, Angel and Ginger, it sparked a new blog post idea. I tried to come up with the benefits of having your best friend being a writer, and I could only come up with a couple. So I decided to turn the tables and ask Angel and Ginger.

And here’s what they come up with:

  1. Getting secret insider story updates
  2. Having a writer BFF means having an ‘advice column’ at your disposal—even at 3 AM! Dating advice? Check. Style advice? Check. TV show advice? Check.
  3. Text messages are pure entertainment
  4. There will never be a boring moment waiting for your food at a restaurant, because your writer BFF can tell you a backstory for every passing stranger…including your waitress.
  5. Sometimes characters in your BFF’s book are named after you
  6. The moment when you’re at a get-together, and your BFF plops a computer in your lap and says “Story update!” and your heart swells because you feel so special and loved
  7. When you succeed at something, and your writer BFF can tell you how awesome you are in a million different ways.
  8. Birthday cards are epic
  9. Getting to help your writer BFF cast future movie spinoffs of her books
  10. When you’re sad, she has all the ‘write’ words to make you feel better…pun intended
  11. No great moment from your childhood will ever be forgotten, because your writer BFF kept a detailed journals of all of your adventures
  12. If you need a name for you pet/car/plant/etc., you BFF writer can give you 20+ names in under a minute

So to add a little about these….

  1. Most of the time a writer needs advice about how a story pans out and a lot of the time a writer has an agent and publisher on their side to help out. But for someone (like me), doesn’t have either. But I do have two very BFF’s who are always there for me.
  2. Ha! So, I’m not sure how much dating or style advice I’ve given them…I think I’ve asked them more, but I have given them lots and lots of new TV shows and movies for them to check out. Or even the latest book I read.
  3. Well, I think this one is pretty self-explanatory. There are times when I get hit with an idea (usually when I’m driving home from a long day or week at work), and I want their opinion about how good the idea is…or bad.
  4. The creativity of a writer is endless. We can, on the dime, come up with how someone got to where they are today.
  5. Because they both are such influential people in my life, I believe one of the best ways to show them how much I appreciate them is by adding them in little snippets.
  6. Again…ADVICE needed! Help! I’m stuck!!!
  7. Because you’ve helped me with my dream, I believe in celebrating your achievements as well. What kind of relationship would it be, if we only cared about thyself? A pretty crappy one.
  8. No one likes a boring birthday card…trust me.
  9. This just gives us an excuse to look at hot actors on Pinterest….
  10. I don’t like seeing my BFFs having a crappy day because some asshole doesn’t care…
  11. I like to use moments of our adventures together in my stories, even if they are small and settle.
  12. I always have a list of names for characters, their pets, cars, etc. etc.

Disadvantages?

Angel and Ginger: NONE!

