I am a self taught cake decorator. I had Matt’s mother teach me the basics and show me how to use some of the tips, but other than that I’ve watched thousands of YouTube videos, looked at magazines, and skimmed Wilton’s website.

I think most of the major holidays (Christmas, Easter, 4th of July, etc.) deserve a good cake. This year I attempted my very first basket weave and grass (the grass was a flop, but the weave turned out!).

Easter fell in March this year, and my family planned to have my niece’s first birthday cupcake on the same day (although her birthday is in April). I scoured Pinterest like an addict and found several ideas that I would have loved to have done.

I finally decided on a basket weave side, green grass on the center with a small chocolate bunny and robin eggs for the centerpiece. When I think of Easter I think pastels, so when I asked my mother for advice about what color the basket should be.

“Hot pink!”

Uh, really? “Why? I was thinking a pastel pink or yellow.”

“It will look great with the green grass.”

Okay, sure.

1459047534430

I got my idea from http://www.cakecentral.com/gallery/i/2013098/bunny-butt-easter-basket . Theirs turned out a lot better, but I was lacking in time so I had to improvise on the bunny and eggs.

The cupcakes were for my niece, who we were celebrating her first birthday (okay…a month early). I told my sister I wanted to make her first cupcake and everyone’s schedule is so busy that we decided to do a month early. 🙂

I learned a lot doing this cake:

  • A bigger tip would’ve gone a lot better and faster (Which, I tried to look at my local Joann’s but failed).
  • For the grass tip the frosting has to be mixed perfectly with no chunks at all! My tip kept getting plugged, so I decided I would a star tip instead for the grass so I could just get it done.
  • Also, taking the time to keep the frosting and cake cool so it doesn’t look messy when applied
  • And lastly, make sure you have more than enough time to get the decorating done. I was on a time crunch to get it done before dinner and in some parts of the cake it showed (hence the warm frosting due to lack of time…).
