So now that I am into baking and frosting everyone asks me to make them a cake for their birthdays. So today is just another birthday cake for my SIL, Alli.

image

image

It’s a gluten free chocolate cake with a raspberry cream cheese frosting. I used a box cake (got home late from work and really didn’t want to make it from scratch), but I always tweak my box cakes.

I found this, http://pin.it/D2UDq-l on Pinterest and used it ever since! You add an extra egg, use milk instead of water, and use melted butter instead of oil and double. The cakes come out a lot more rich and denser!

For the frosting I used:
1 stick butter
1.5 packages cream cheese (we like our frosting more cream cheese flavor)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2.5 cups powdered sugar (the normal recipe calls for 4 cups but like I said we like the cream cheese flavor more)
3 tbsp milk or heavy cream (heavy cream makes it more creamy)
1 cup raspberries folded in

Let’s just say it was a hit with everyone!

